Skip to content

How To: Look Like a Celebrity…

11/08/2011

… without any cost, pain or lasting side-effects.

Meet my new obsession: InStyle’s ‘Hollywood Makeover’.

I can’t tell you how many hours of my life I have completely lost in my infatuation with this program. I have tried on every celebrity hairstyle, copied their makeup, lipstick, eyeshadows, changed the colour of my eyes! And then I did it all again for my friends. And my family. And family friends. I haven’t stooped to making over animals but don’t think it hasn’t crossed my mind. So… to somewhat justify it – and maybe offer up a little self-examination that may lessen my condition – I want to share some of the results with you.

This was the original picture…

Me - au natural

Now check out my miraculous celebrity makeovers…

So…

Old School Hollywood
Glamour a la Veronica
Lake (via Kristen Bell)
Transformation to sun-kissed California Girl – Kate Hudson
Olivia Palermo. You can’t tell in this picture but our legs look JUST the same as well. Really.
This is how Megan Fox does Hollywood glamour. From the neck up anyway…
I think Camilla Belle pulled this off without looking like a chubby (but well-groomed) toddler
This one’s just embarrassing… Yes, I am trying to look like Rosie Huntington Whiteley. Doomed to fail.
No matter how pretty, Sandra Bullock just doesn’t look right without a smile…
A blonde Hilary Swank. Without the cheekbones unfortunately.
Blonde is really growing on me. And false eyelashes too…
As short and sweet as Carey Mulligan…
The sassy Ms Perry. Before she was pink. And blonde. And ginger.
Jennifer Garner goes big and bold

What do you think??? Can I pull off ANY of them?! Will you be trying any? Remember to send me your pictures!

xxx

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Adele permalink
    11/08/2011 22:13

    Brilliant, who’s the un-named blonde? I like that one best.

  2. Amy permalink
    11/08/2011 22:39

    Love it! I like the Kate Hudson one!x

    • 11/08/2011 22:42

      Do you think I should go blonde?? Will you be trying any?! Send me your pictures if you do and I will put them up šŸ˜‰

  3. Stacey Lloyd permalink
    12/08/2011 07:35

    This may well shock you, but I think that you really do pull off the Carey Mulligan! It looks so cool and sassy, especially if you added some funky earings… love it! Otherwise I agree with Amy, the Kate Hudson one is pretty awesome.

    • 12/08/2011 08:46

      Lol, I think you are right! In theory… not sure my real hair would behave that way. It surprisingly seems to suit most people- send me a photo of you and I will show you!

  4. Erin 22 permalink
    12/08/2011 16:50

    Love it. Sent you my photo!

    Looking forward to seeing the transformation šŸ™‚

    • 12/08/2011 17:44

      Done! And done! What do you think??
      The original…
      erin original small
      After being given the celebrity treatment…
      (It’s Carey Mulligan and Kate Winslet in case you can’t tell!)
      Erin Carey mulligan
      Erin KAte Winslet

  5. Adele permalink
    12/08/2011 19:58

    Had such fun playing with this. Sent you my pics Aphrodite. What do you think?

    • 12/08/2011 22:06

      Oooh thanks for these! The original: original

      And… Ginnifer Goodwin!…
      GG

      Lea Michele…
      LM

      And blonde bombshell Scarlett Johansson (looking a lot like Marilyn Monroe!)
      SJ

      Thanks for these Adele – good job – looking gorgeous! x

  6. Stacey Lloyd permalink
    13/08/2011 07:45

    Adele, you do look a little like a dear caught in the headlights! But otherwise… very cool! Will be sending you mine!

  7. Adele permalink
    13/08/2011 14:18

    Deer…better than llamas!

  8. 18/08/2011 17:43

    And it’s not just for girls! Thanks to Neil for these… stunning makeovers! šŸ˜‰

    Teen idol, ‘Zac Efron’: Zac

    Neil in 30 years… the ‘George Cloney’:george

    He hasn’t quite got the tortured smoulder down yet but check out that crazy Rob Pattinson hair! Rob

    What do you think??? WHat picture should Neil take with him to the barber?

    • Shirley permalink
      18/08/2011 21:07

      Wow “GEORGE” – I bet Stacey wont mind growing OLD with you!!!

  9. Neil Lloyd permalink
    18/08/2011 18:48

    I look emo, I look like a vampire (but a friendly one), and I look Jewish…. Thank you Lara for making me appreciate my own look so much more!

    • 18/08/2011 20:53

      It’s not only girls who can experiment… you have so many options! Which do you think you might go for then??

  10. 21/08/2011 20:39

    haha lovely! am going to try this out!

  11. Robyn Thomas permalink
    27/09/2011 16:40

    Lara, I honestly thought the first blonde pic was Uma Thurman. No really! I had to scroll up and down a few times to see it was you… So if Kristin Bell doesn’t work out, you have that going for you…
    And Neil… NEVER grow a fringe! I beg you!

Leave a Reply

