Skip to content

Aphrodite’s Apple

25/03/2010

(The full story of the Golden Apple can be found on the ‘About’ page of this site.)Aphrodite.jpg

The point of the story of Aphrodite and the golden apple (and the premise for this blog) is that the decision to award the title of ‘fairest‘ to the goddess of beauty rather than power or wisdom, demonstrates the measure by which women are taught, and indeed encouraged, to judge themselves, the competition that exists between women as a result, and also the way in which women are pigeon-holed. Since ancient times women have generally been depicted as powerful OR wise OR compassionate and beautiful, but very rarely all three.

We can still see very obvious examples of this in our society. Beautiful models are generally greeted with surprise, if not scepticism, if they reveal themselves to be anything other than airheaded bimbos, while female politicians and world leaders are forced to play down their femininity.  Take for example Hillary Clinton who was widely criticised for showing emotion and crying during the presidential race. The disapproval ranged from denouncing it as a calculated and manipulative political move to condemning it as a revealing display of her inherent female weakness. Or consider Condoleeza Rice when she visited Wiesbaden Army Airfield and her now (in)famous choice of outfit. Her attempt to select dark, masculine tailoring in a fashionable military style- no doubt to enhance her status as a tough, powerful force in what is still essentially a man’s world- backfired when amongst the press the look was labelled ‘dominatrix-chic’. It seems that when women try to combine beauty, intelligence and power, stubborn stereotypes depreciate their overall worth into purely sexual terms.

I faced a similar confusion when attempting to choose a theme for my blog. I didn’t want it to be a purely intellectual forum; I wanted it to be fun. I am the quintessential girly girl- I love fashion, I adore makeup, and I am an unashamed follower of pop culture. I wanted a blog that would express all of those things. But I am also fascinated by ancient cultures, excited by artistic masterpieces, a follower of current events, a world traveller, and enjoy nothing more than losing myself in book. When did we get the idea that we had to restrict ourselves to being only one thing? One ‘type’ of person? I, like most beautiful, strong, intelligent women I know, am a mixture of Hera, Athena and Aphrodite, which is why I am writing this blog for stylish, beautiful, intelligent and, above all, interesting women.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacey permalink
    26/03/2010 17:33

    Love it!

    As a classics scholar myself, I love the choice of name and theme! I like to think of myself as a mixture of Ceres, Helen (not technically a goddess but from ancient myth!) and Aphrodite…!

    Love that you want to mix up all those identities – we need more women to be such lovely, beautiful and deep thinking hybrids! The only other characteristic that I would add personally is the domestic one! Too many people think that if a woman loved the home and all things domestic, then she is not very career driven or intelligent…

    Let’s get rid of such stereotypes!

    • PrettyinPrint permalink*
      26/03/2010 17:47

      We are still trying to get rid of the stereotype of women as only good for housekeeping, raising the kids and looking after their husbands! But you are right… we can do EVERYTHING. (After all Hera was also the goddess of marriage and married women)

      I think you might like (or at least have a very strong opinion on!) my next ‘Opinion’ article (entitled- Whose World is it Anyway?) So keep an eye out…

      Thanks for the great comment- keep them coming x

  2. Leanne permalink
    27/03/2010 15:26

    Wow Cuz, this is amazing, always knew u had this talent. Excellent site. Well Done

  3. Mich permalink
    27/03/2010 20:57

    Hello couz,
    Thought I’d show my support and check your blog out and it is very cool! I love the anime of aphrodite – where did you get that done? Anyway your writing is wonderful to read so keep doing it!!! Much love xxx

Leave a Reply

